Монастырь Гегард

Монастырь Гегард — это уникальное архитектурное сооружение в провинции Котайк в Армении, частично вырезанное из соседней горы, окруженное скалами. Он внесен в список Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО.

Область։Котайк
Расстояние от Еревана:37 км
Над уровнем моря:1930 м

Монастырь Гегард — это уникальное архитектурное сооружение в провинции Котайк Армении, частично вырезанное из соседней горы, окруженное скалами. Он внесен в список Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО.

В то время как главная часовня была построена в 1215 году, монастырский комплекс был основан в IV веке Грегори Просветителем на месте священного источника внутри пещеры. Таким образом, монастырь был первоначально назван Айриванк, что означает «Монастырь Пещеры». Название, обычно используемое для монастыря сегодня, Гегард, или более полно Гегардаванк, что означает «Монастырь Копья», происходит от копья, которое ранило Иисуса на Распятие, якобы принесенного в Армению Апостолом Джудом, названным здесь Таддеусом, и хранится среди многих других реликвий. Теперь он отображается в кассу Эчмиадзина.

Зрелищные возвышающиеся скалы, окружающие монастырь, являются частью ущелья реки Азат и включены вместе с монастырем в список объектов Всемирного наследия. Некоторые из церквей в монастырском комплексе полностью выкопаны из скал, другие — не что иное, как пещеры, в то время как другие — сложные структуры с архитектурно сложными стенами и комнатами в глубине скалы. Комбинация вместе с многочисленными выгравированными и свободно стоящими хачкарами — это уникальный вид, являющийся одним из самых посещаемых туристических направлений в Армении.

Большинство посетителей Гегард также предпочитают посетить близлежащий храм Гарни, парфеноновую структуру, расположенную дальше по реке Азат. Посещение обоих сайтов за одну поездку настолько распространено, что их часто называют в унисон, как Гарни-Гегард.

Карта

Поиск туров

Why Book With Us?

  • Best Price Guarantee
  • Fast & Easy Booking
  • Wide Selection of Tours
  • Custom Tours
  • Professional Guide Services
  • Travel Insurance Assistance
  • 24/7 Customer Service

Связанные туры

Вардавар в Армении

9 Дней
С отелем
Download Nulled WordPress ThemesDownload Best WordPress Themes Free DownloadDownload Best […]
От$890
No Reviews
View Details

Фестиваль барбекю

7 Дней
С отелем
Download Nulled WordPress ThemesDownload Premium WordPress Themes FreeFree Download WordPress […]
От$741
No Reviews
View Details
Ayrudzi Riding Club, Armenia

Armenia for children and families

6 Days
With Hotel
Download Best WordPress Themes Free DownloadPremium WordPress Themes DownloadDownload Best […]
От$490
No Reviews
View Details

Geghard monastery

The monastery of Geghard is a unique architectural construction in the Kotayk province of Armenia, being partially carved out of the adjacent mountain, surrounded by cliffs. It is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Region։Kotayk
Distance from Yerevan:37 km
Above sea level։1930 m

The monastery of Geghard is a unique architectural construction in the Kotayk province of Armenia, being partially carved out of the adjacent mountain, surrounded by cliffs. It is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

While the main chapel was built in 1215, the monastery complex was founded in the 4th century by Gregory the Illuminator at the site of a sacred spring inside a cave. The monastery had thus been originally named Ayrivank, meaning “the Monastery of the Cave”. The name commonly used for the monastery today, Geghard, or more fully Geghardavank, meaning “the Monastery of the Spear”, originates from the spear which had wounded Jesus at the Crucifixion, allegedly brought to Armenia by Apostle Jude, called here Thaddeus, and stored amongst many other relics. Now it is displayed in the Echmiadzin treasury.

The spectacular towering cliffs surrounding the monastery are part of the Azat river gorge, and are included together with the monastery in the World Heritage Site listing. Some of the churches within the monastery complex are entirely dug out of the cliff rocks, others are little more than caves, while others are elaborate structures, with both architecturally complex walled sections and rooms deep inside the cliff. The combination, together with numerous engraved and free-standing khachkars is a unique sight, being one of the most frequented tourist destinations in Armenia.

Most visitors to Geghard also choose to visit the nearby Garni temple, a Parthenon-like structure located further down the Azat river. Visiting both sites in one trip is so common that they are often referred to in unison as Garni-Geghard.

Map

Search Tours

Why Book With Us?

  • Best Price Guarantee
  • Fast & Easy Booking
  • Wide Selection of Tours
  • Custom Tours
  • Professional Guide Services
  • Travel Insurance Assistance
  • 24/7 Customer Service

Related Tours

Ayrudzi Riding Club, Armenia

Armenia for children and families

6 Days
With Hotel
Download WordPress ThemesPremium WordPress Themes DownloadFree Download WordPress ThemesDownload WordPress […]
From$490
No Reviews
View Details
Yerevan Color Run, Armenia

Yerevan Color Run

5 Days
With Hotel
Premium WordPress Themes DownloadDownload WordPress ThemesDownload Premium WordPress Themes FreeDownload […]
From$345
No Reviews
View Details
voz-winery

Yerevan Wine Days

3 Days
With Hotel
Download Premium WordPress Themes FreePremium WordPress Themes DownloadDownload Best WordPress […]
From$250
No Reviews
View Details